A Wild Sheep Chase

How cool is this!  I didn’t actually intend to put in a slide show, but it does the trick!

I eventually went to see “Mr Fleko” the owner of the little yarn shop that is on Compte d’ Borell with Diputacion. He is closing down, which is a huge disaster for me as this shop is very close to our apartment, the old gentleman is very interesting, and the yarns are all end of run from mills in Spain, France and Italy and include wools, silks, linens, artificial fibres, ribbons, curtain bindings…you name it: What is even more facinating is the total mess the shop is in – it wouldn’t be out of place in Diagon Allly in Harry Potter…everything is a huge jumble and you can find ribbons or yarns from eras long gone by.

In the midst of all this I found a lovely yarn – 70% lambs wool, 30% acrylic – already felted with regular slubs, it springs and bounces in the hand and feels amazing. The colour is a charcoal grey, but up close you can see the black and white fibres that make it up. I’m hoping to see something completely different when I felt this.

The boucle is from Ireland – a lambs wool / angora / viscose blend that manages to be soft and not too prickly. Again I’m hoping there is enough slack for the lambs wool warp to felt…We’ll see!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “A Wild Sheep Chase

  1. I leave a response whenever I especially enjoy a post on a website or I have something to add to the conversation. Usually it is triggered by the fire communicated in the article I read. And on this post Maison Atlanta Blog » Tmas two nights before Christmas. I was actually excited enough to leave a thought I actually do have a couple of questions for you if it’s allright. Is it only me or does it give the impression like a few of these responses appear like they are written by brain dead visitors? And, if you are writing on additional online sites, I would like to follow you. Could you list all of all your shared sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

Leave a Reply

